The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) has announced a new competition, The Eurovision Choir of the year for amateur choirs.

Amateur choirs from 7 EBU Member countries which are Austria(ORF), Belgium(RTBF), Denmark(DR), Estonia(ERR),Germany(WDR), Latvia(LTV) and Slovenia(RTV) will compete for the title of Eurovision Choir of the Year, with prizes including a recording deal for the winning choir.

“Singing in choirs is a healthy, social and artistic activity that anyone, young or old, musically experienced or not, can take part in and one which is growing in popularity across the world” said Jon Ola Sand, the head of live events within the EBU.

Each choir will perform a six minute unaccompanied set in any genre. Judges include British composer John Rutter and Latvian mezzo-soprano Elīna Garanča. 

The first edition of Eurovision Choir of the Year will be produced by host broadcaster Latvian Television (LTV) and Riga Tourism Development Bureau (LIVE RIGA) on 22 July at the Riga Arena in Latvia.Tickets are expected to go for sale on 15th March.

Check out the trailer of this event:





Load More Related Articles
Load More By Fernando Thomas
Load More In 2017

Leave a Reply

Check Also

Sweden: Results from Andra Chansen 2021 & Grand Final Line up Revealed

The Andra Chansen round of Melodifestivalen is now finished, and we have the full line-up …