Even a miniput state can produce a long show, this night and definitely last night, Malta was the country in focus. The small islands in the Mediterranean sea finally held their semi-final, and finally returned to their classic national final format, which was last used in 2018.

MESC 2022

Before the New Year, the Maltese national broadcaster (TVM) revealed the 22 songs that would compete in the Maltese national final, the thing is, there is only 16 spots in the final. Therefor, a semi-final was held last night, and it featured all 22 acts performing tonight.

These were the acts performing in the semi-final: (Sorted by their running order)

  1. Aidan – “Ritmu”
  2. Janice Mangion – “Army”
  3. Nicole Hammett – “A Lover’s Heart”
  4. Sarah Bonnici – “Heaven”
  5. Mark Anthony Bartolo – “Serenity”
  6. Denise – “Boy”
  7. Richard Edwards – “Hey Little”
  8. Francesca Sciberras – “Rise”
  9. Miriana Conte – “Look What You’ve Done Now”
  10. Giada – “Revelación”
  11. Baklava feat. Nicole – “Electric Indigo”
  12. Derrick Schembri – “Il”
  13. Norbert – “How Special You Are”
  14. Raquel – “Over You”
  15. Jessica Grech – “Aphrodisiac”
  16. Matt Blxck – “Come Around”
  17. Rachel Lowell – “White Doves”
  18. Nicole Azzopardi – “Into The Fire”
  19. Emma Muscat – “Out Of Sight”
  20. Malcolm Pisani – “We Came For Love”
  21. Enya Magri – “Shame”
  22. Jessika – “Kaleidoscope”

As mentioned in the beginning, even the small islands was able to produce a long show, and if you wonder what is meant by that, well it turned out that the show went nearly an hour past it’s original broadcasting time, so instead the semi-final results would first be revealed the following day, during the special show that aired tonight.


At least most acts will still be given another chance to perform, but for 6 unfortunate acts, it’s “almost” all over with less than 24 hours before it’s all decided.

These following 16 acts qualified to the final: (In order of announcement)

  1. Enya Magri – “Shame”
  2. Sarah Bonnici – “Heaven”
  3. Matt Blxck – “Come Around”
  4. Denise – “Boy”
  5. Norbert – “How Special You Are”
  6. Raquel – “Over You”
  7. Mark Anthony Bartolo – “Serenity”
  8. Baklava feat. Nicole – “Electric Indigo”
  9. Aidan – “Ritmu”
  10. Janice Mangion – “Army”
  11. Nicole Hammett – “A Lover’s Heart”
  12. Nicole Azzopardi – “Into The Fire”
  13. Richard Edwards – “Hey Little”
  14. Giada – “Revelación”
  15. Emma Muscat – “Out Of Sight”
  16. Miriana Conte – “Look What You’ve Done Now”

This means that the 6 acts that aren’t listed… are not entirely out! As a last moment announcement, one of the 6 non-qualifiers can be saved, and will join the remaining line-up for the final tomorrow.

  1. Francesca Sciberras – “Rise”
  2. Derrick Schembri – “Il”
  3. Jessica Grech – “Aphrodisiac”
  4. Rachel Lowell – “White Doves”
  5. Malcolm Pisani – “We Came For Love”
  6. Jessika – “Kaleidoscope”

Who do #YOU hope to see being the last finalist and who do #YOU think will win the national final? We have a forum right HERE where #YOU can share your thoughts or #YOU can just drop by our social media sites.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By David Popescu
Load More In 2022

One Comment

  1. […] were picked to fight for the Maltese ticket to Turin, but only 17 of those participated tonight, after 5 of them were eliminated during the semi-final. It has to be pointed out however, it was originally 16 acts that qualified for the final, but a […]

Leave a Reply

Check Also

ESC 2024: A complete list of this year’s jury

For the second year in a row, the semi-finals were purely decided by the televote – …