After a number of weeks of shows, semi-finals, heats, finals, drama, emotion and excitement, we have finally reached the end of the national final season. Tonight, Portugal and Sweden will show their hands for Eurovision 2023 as the final artists are confirmed for Liverpool.

Excited? #YOU betcha! Here’s everything #YOU need to know about both of tonight’s finals…

PORTUGAL – Festival da Canção 2023 (starts 22:00 CET)

What will transpire as the final national selection of the season is Portugal’s showpiece competition Festival da Canção! After two semi-finals and a wildcard selection, the final showdown between the remaining thirteen acts is tonight. And they are;

  1. Cláudia Pascoal – Nasci Maria
  2. Churky – Encruzilhada
  3. Esse Povo – Sapatos de cimento
  4. Bárbara Tinoco – Goodnight
  5. You Can’t Win, Charlie Brown – Contraste mudo
  6. Voodoo Marmalade – Tormento
  7. Inês Apenas – Fim do mundo
  8. Mimicat – Ai coração
  9. Dapunksportif – World Needs Therapy
  10. Neon Soho – Endless World
  11. Ivandro – Povo
  12. Edmundo Inácio – A festa
  13. SAL – Viver

Can Cláudia Pascoal win the Portuguese ticket for a second time, or will any of the other acts take it tonight, such as the returning Bárbara Tinoco, and earn their first taste of Eurovision in Liverpool? A combination of jury voting and the Portuguese televote will decide Portugal’s entry for Eurovision 2023.

#YOU can follow the final of Festival da Canção 2023 (and the last national final of this year’s contest) LIVE from 22:00 CET with RTP’s stream HERE. #YOU can also join in the discussion with other FdC fans on our forum HERE or over on Discord!

Don’t forget to have YOUR say on Portugal’s selection HERE.

SWEDEN – Melodifestivalen 2023 (starts 20:00 CET)

It’s finally here! Melfest draws to a close this evening, with twelve acts remaining in the running to take the hotly contested Swedish ticket to Liverpool.

The 12 competing acts are (in running order);

  1. Jon Henrik Fjällgren, Arc North ft. Adam Woods – Where You Are (Sávežan)
  2. Tone Sekelius – Rhythm of My Show
  3. Mariette – One Day
  4. Marcus & Martinus – Air
  5. Panetoz – On My Way
  6. Maria Sur – Never Give Up
  7. Smash Into Pieces – Six Feet Under
  8. Kiana – Where Did You Go
  9. Nordman – Släpp alla sorger
  10. Loreen – Tattoo
  11. Theoz – Mer av dig
  12. Paul Rey – Royals

The final line-up is of course star-studded – returnees Jon Henrik Fjällgren, Tone Sekelius, Mariette, Panetoz, Nordman, Theoz and Paul Rey will all be hoping to win Melodifestivalen for the first time, and Eurovision 2012 winner Loreen will look to make it a second participation in Eurovision this year. If successful, she would be the first artist to represent Sweden more than once since Charlotte Perelli’s second participation in 2008. But, can any of the newcomers Marcus & Martinus, Maria Sur, Smash Into Pieces or Kiana make it beginner’s luck this evening?

Tonight’s result will as ever be decided by a combination of the Swedish televote and app voting, and the points from the international juries; Australia, Belgium, Croatia, Latvia, Spain, Germany, Austria and Malta.

The show will be LIVE from Friends Arena in Solna, Stockholm from 20:00 CET, and #YOU can watch the final HERE on SVT’s stream. There will also be an English language commentary stream provided by Swedish journalist Bella Qvist and our very own former ESC United correspondent Olivia Le Poidevin, which can be found HERE!

#YOU can also discuss the Melodifestivalen final on our forum HERE or on our Discord server HERE with other Melfest fans!

Don’t forget to have YOUR say on Sweden’s selection HERE.

Which show will #YOU be watching tonight? Share your thoughts with us on our forum HERE or join the discussion below in the comments, on social media @ESCUnited and over on our Discord server!

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Sean Tarbuck
Load More In 2023

Leave a Reply

Check Also

Özkan Uğur, two-time Turkish Eurovision artist with MFÖ, has died aged 69

Özkan Uğur, one of Turkey’s most celebrated musicians as member of the band MFÖ, has…