Sweden’s biggest TV and music show Melodifestivalen begins this weekend. For the next 6 weeks, viewers from across Sweden and the world will be tuning in to SVT for one of the biggest national finals of the year

Every year, SVT keeps nthe competiting artists and their song secret and the entire production. This including the staging, songs and intervals.

Earlier in the week SVT released images of the stage. The stage being used for this year’s tour, includes some parts of last years design for sustainability.

Saturdays Heat 1 takes place from Gothenburg’s Scandinavium and will see 7 acts compete for 2 spots in the semi-final (Second Chance) and 2 will go direct to the final in Stockholm.

The 7 songs competing in Heat 1 are (in running order)

  1. Tone Sekelius – Rhythm of My Show
  2. Loulou Lamotte – Inga Sorger
  3. Rejhan – Haunted
  4. Elov & Beny – Raggen Gar
  5. Victor Crone – Diamonds
  6. Eva Rydberg & Ewa Roos – Lange Leve Livet
  7. Jon Henrik Fjallgren, Arc North feat. Adam Woods – Where You Are

Today, SVT released one-minute snippets of each of these songs exclusively on SVT Play. Saturday will be the first time the public will be able to hear the songs in full.

After the contest, only the songs that have not qualified directly to the final will be released on streaming platforms.

These snippets will also be released each week for each heat.

Sweden are looking to replicate the success of Cornelia Jacobs who came 4th in Eurovision last year. Melfest 2022 includes many debutants and returning artists. The full list of competitors can be found here.

Are #YOU excited for Heat 1 of Melfest? Who do #YOU want to qualify for the final? Let us know down below in the comments, on social media @ESCUnited, on our Forum, or on our Discord!

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Alastair C
Load More In 2023

Leave a Reply

Check Also

Melodifestivalen’s Finalkval: Jay Smith and Annika Wickihalder to the Final

Yes, Melfest has changed again. Gone is the Andra Chansen, and the Semi-Final and now ther…