This afternoon TVM announced the 22 artists that would compete in the 2022 edition of the Malta Eurovision Song Contest national final. Malta has used a national final in the years prior to 2018, but opted to use the Malta X-Factor show to select their 2019 and 2020/2021 representatives. This year they will return to their roots, and quite a few familiar MESC names appear on the list.

The artists and songs competing for a ticket to Eurovision are:

  1. Nicole Hammett – A Lover’s Heart
  2. Jessica Grech – Aphrodisiac
  3. Janice Mangion – Army
  4. Denise Mercieca – Boy
  5. Matt BLXCK – Come Around
  6. Baklava ft. Nicole – Electric Indigo
  7. Sarah Bonnici – Heaven
  8. Richard Micallef – Hey Little
  9. Norbert Bondin – How Special You Are
  10. Derrick Schembri – II
  11. Nicole Azzopardi – Into The Fire
  12. Jessica Muscat – Kaledoscope
  13. Miriana Conte – Look What You’ve Done Now
  14. Emma Muscat – Out of Sight
  15. Raquel Galdes Brifa – Over You
  16. Jade Vella – Revelacion
  17. Francesca Sciberras – Rise
  18. Aidan Casar – Ritmu
  19. Mark Anthony Bartolo – Serenity
  20. Enya Magri – Shame
  21. Malcolm Pisani – We Came for Love
  22. Rachel Lowell – White Doves

Jessica Muscat has previously been to Eurovision in 2018 with her song “Who We Are” but represented San Marino instead of Malta. This will be her 11th appearance in the MESC selection. Malta’s 2014 artist Richard Micallef is back again to try and represent his country, he competed in Copenhagen with the song “Coming Home” and this is his seventh appearance in the selection.

Aidan Cassar participated in MESC back in 2018 with the song “Dai Laga” which caused buzz due to his use of a public access track from the internet. Racquel Galdes Brifa also comepeted in MESC back in 2016 with the song “Flashing Lights”. Janice Madrigon competed in MESC back in 2017 with the song “Kewbaka” and participated in X Factor Malta season one.

Many of the selected artists have appeared on seasons one and two of Malta X-Factor alongside Janice Madrigon such as Denise Mercieca, Matt BLVCK (Matt Anthony for MESC 2018), Sarah Bonnici, Norbert Bondin, Derrick Schembri, Nicole Azzopardi, Mirana Conte, Jade Vella, Francesca Sciberras (also JESC particiapant for Malta in 2009), and Mark Anthony Bartolo.

MESC will be comprised of a semi-final and a final show according to TVM’s press release, where 16 acts will qualify for the final show scheduled for February 2022. The winner of MESC will be decided by a split jury and public vote.

What do #YOU think of the line-up for MESC 2022? Let us know on social media @ESCUnited, on our discord, or on our forum page!

Load More Related Articles
Load More By CJ Terry
Load More In 2021

Leave a Reply

Check Also

EBU release statement addressing concerns raised during 2024 Eurovision Song Contest

Following the conclusion of the 2024 Eurovision Song Contest the European Broadcasting Uni…