Image: Nelli Kenttä/Milla Määttä/Yle

Last Wednesday, Finnish broadcaster YLE announced the 7 hopefuls who are in the running to fly the Finnish flag in Turin. To keep the hype alive among the Eurovision fans, the broadcaster decided to release the songs on a daily base. You can expect a new song from the national final every weekday at midnight. Our fourth stop: pop group Younghearted with their song “Sun Numero”

About Younghearted

Pop group Younghearted exists of a group of high school friends: vocalist Reeta Huotarinen and guitarists Atte Ranta and Emil Korkiakoski. Founded in 2015, Younghearted has released two albums. The first album, Nuorisydän, which was released in 2016, reached platinum. The second album, Vapaa, received an Emma Gala Music Awards nomination in the Band of the Year category. The band’s best known songs are Hetkeksi and Vaikeeta.

It has been more than two years since the band’s last release, so now was the time for a comeback at UMK.

After some time away from the game, we’re coming back in a big way and with a new sound”, says guitarist Emil Korkiakoski.

Their UMK 2022 entry Sun numero embodies a more adventurous Younghearted.They are known for its sensitive interpretations, however the band see them now more as ‘softly rock‘n’roll’. “The song really shows the direction Younghearted is heading. Before, we had a more acoustic, smaller sound. Now, we’re going big right out of the gate,” explains Korkiakoski.

Sun numero is about the more painful sides of love: longing, desperation and regret. Even though love is a hot topic, vocalist Reeta Huotarinen wanted to take a fresh approach by looking at it from the point of view of someone suffering from remorse: when you regret breaking up, but your ex has already found someone else.

In addition to Younghearted itself, singer-songwriter Vilma Alina and composer-producers Joonas Keronen and Ilkka Wirtanen also contributed to making the song.

In the coming days, Finnish broadcaster YLE will reveal the other songs that are competing in Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu to represent Finland at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2022. You can see the schedule here below:

  • Olivera – “Thank God I’m an Atheist” (Wednesday 19 January)
  • Tommi Läntinen – “Elämä kantaa mua” (Life carries me) (Thursday 20 January)
  • Isaac Sene – “Kuuma jäbä” (Hot ice) (Friday 21 January)

Tomorrow, Olivera with her song “Thank God I’m an Atheist” will be the next release. The premiere of the song will be sunday at 23:00 CET on the official YouTube channel of Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu and will be released shortly after it on all streaming services.

What do #YOU think of  “Sun Numero ?” Share your thoughts with us on our forum HERE or join the discussion below and on social media!


Load More Related Articles
Load More By Melanie Otto
Load More In 2022

Leave a Reply

Check Also

The Netherlands: Joost Klein released his ESC2024 song “Europapa”

Europe get ready! Dutch representative Joost Klein just released his Eurovision entry R…