The second semi-final for Söngvakeppnin  in Iceland is now over. Five acts competed in the second semi-final of Iceland’s national selection and at the end of the night, only two qualified for the final. Per usual, all songs are sung in Icelandic in the semi-finals. Any songs that qualify for the final will then be sung in the intended language for Eurovision. The running order was as follows:

1. Sigga Ózk – “Um allan alheiminn”
2. Heiðrún Anna – “Þjakaður af ást”
3. Bashar Murad – “Vestrið villt”
4. MAIAA – “Fljúga burt”
5. Hera Björk – “Við förum hærra”
(Click on the songs listed to watch the live performances on YouTube.)

After some great interval acts, featuring Joey Christ and Daniil opening and an interval act with Bo Halldórsson and a final ad break, the qualifiers were announced. Qualifiers are determined entirely by televote in the semi-finals. The qualifiers were announced in random order. In order of being announced, the qualifiers were Hera Björk and Bashar Murad. That means we must unfortunately say goodbye to Sigga Ózk, MAIAA, and Heiðrún Anna. However, in years past, a wildcard has been awarded to the act with the most votes that didn’t qualify, and the wildcard entry was announced tonight! Sigga Ózk was granted the wildcard, and joins the finalists tonight along with Væb and Anita.

Next week on Saturday, 2 March, we will see the conclusion of Söngvakeppnin with the five finalists competing to win for Iceland.

Do #YOU agree with the qualifiers? Who do you think will win it all for Iceland? Let us know on social media @ESCUnited, on our discord, or on our forum page!

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Tyler Griffith
Load More In 2024

Leave a Reply

Check Also

🇮🇸 RÚV Confirms Iceland’s Participation at Eurovision With Hera Björk

Following the results of Söngvakeppnin, Iceland’s national selection, the RÚV broadc…