Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2014 which was organized by the Danish Broadcaster DR took place tonight. It was the 43rd edition of the music competition and the country picked the song that would represent them on home turf as Denmark won the Eurovision Song Contest last year with Emmelie de Forest’ “Only Teardrops”.

The winning song was selected by a combination of the viewers’ SMS votes and votes cast by a professional jury among 10 participants. After the first round of voting the Top three acts moved on to the Super Final. The lucky candidates were Basim, Rebekka Thornbech and Michael Rune . Natascha Bessez.

In the second round, viewers and the professional jury voted again, however, each member of the jury awarded 1,2 , and 3 points to the songs, with 3 points being awarded to the song they preferred the most. The five members of the jury awarded a total of 30 points.  The SMS viewer vote was also translated into 30 points, with each song receiving the proportion of those 30 points based on the percentage of the total votes they earned.

In the end Basim received the most points and will fly the flag for Denmark hoping to make the hosting Nation proud. You can listen to the song “Cliche Love Song” below.

[vsw id=”KRHKkYrXSjM” source=”youtube” width=”425″ height=”344″ autoplay=”no”]


As Denmark is hosting the event, they are already qualified for the Grand Final which will take place on May 10th.

Let us know how you like the song and if they’ll be able to defend the Eurovision title. You can join the conversation HERE and talk to thousands of fans from all around the world.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Matt Friedrichs
Load More In 2014

Leave a Reply

Check Also

LIVE BLOG – Eurovision 2023 Final – First Dress Rehearsal

I know, I know… We are only just getting over what happened last night, but we are b…