On top of an already busy day in the Eurovision bubble, this weekend the second semi-final of Söngvakeppnin occurred, with the final five artists taking to the stage for the chance to perform in the final.

Tonight’s show featured all five entries in their Icelandic version as is customary for the semi-final round. The running order for the semi was as follows:

  1. Markéta Irglová – “Mögulegt”
  2. Suncity and Sanna – “Hækkum í botn”
  3. Daughters of Reykjavík – “Tökum af stað
  4. Katla – “Þaðan af
  5. Hanna and the Astronauts – “Séns með þér”

After all the performances were completed, televotes from across Iceland were collected and counted by RÚV. The qualifiers from the semi-final are decided by a 100% televoting process. Following some green room interviews and an interval act by GDRN it was revealed that Daughters of Reykjavík and Katla had advanced to the final next Saturday. The sheer excitement from both was evident as they took to the stage to celebrate.

Last weekend Sigga, Beta, and Elín and Stefán Óli qualified to the final through the first semi-final show and will compete alongside tonight’s qualifiers. However, it is worth mentioning that the rules allow Söngvakeppnin organizers to pass a non-qualifying act to the final – and they chose the sibling duo Amarosis from semi-final one.

This means next week’s final will be comprised of the following artists in alphabetical order:

  1. Amarosis – “Don’t Know You”
  2. Daughters of Reykjavík – “Tökum af stað
  3. Katla – “Þaðan af
  4. Sigga, Beta and Elín – “Með hækkandi sól”
  5. Stefán Óli – “Ljósið”

Söngvakeppnin continues on March 12th when Iceland will decide their representative for Eurovision 2022. The final begins at 20:45 PM CET on RÚV’s website. Each artist will have the option to perform either the Icelandic or English version of their entry – however Sigga, Beta and Elín’s song is in Icelandic only.

What do #YOU think of tonight’s results in Söngvakeppnin? Let us know on social media @ESCUnited, on our discord, or on our forum page!

Load More Related Articles
Load More By CJ Terry
Load More In 2022

Leave a Reply

Check Also

Seven spokespersons confirmed for Eurovision 2024 final

As is tradition for the Eurovision Song Contest, each country selects a spokesperson to re…