Dutch broadcaster AVROTROS just announced two additional members to the Dutch Eurovision Song Contest selection committee. Musicians Jacqueline Govaert and Jaap Reesema will be joining Twan van de Nieuwenhuijzen, Carolien Borgers, Hila Noorzai, Cornald Maas and Sander Lantinga to decide which song and act will be representing The Netherlands at the Eurovision Song Contest 2024 in Mälmo, Sweden.

Who are Jacqueline Govaert and Jaap Reesema?

Jacqueline Govaert (1982) is a dutch singer and best known as the frontwoman of the band Krezip. The band got big in 2000 with their debutalbum Nothing Less and the number 1 hit “I Would Stay.” In 2009, the band decided to quit, but Jacqueline launched her solo career and released the album Good Life. However in 2019, Krezip made a comeback on Pinkpop and sold out the Ziggo Dome 3 times. This year, the band released a new album called “Any Day Now.

Jacqueline Govaert about being selected for the committee: “Hearing a good song sung well for the first time has something magical about it. I am really looking forward to listening to the submissions together with the other committee members and finding the perfect song!”

Jaap Reesema (1984) is best known of winning the third edition of X-factor in The Netherlands in 2010. In 2020, he reached the top of the charts with Belgian singer Pommelien Thijs and their song “Nu Wij Niet Meer Praten.” Under the name Jake Reese, Jaap collaborates with different international Djs.  In 2021,  he even tried to represent The Netherlands with Dj Armin van Buren, however the committee choosed S10.

Jaap Reesema: “ I really like the opportunity to contribute to the creation of great international success for a Dutch product. Watch the winning song ‘Arcade’ by Duncan Laurence. It now has more than 1 billion Spotify streams, unprecedented! The Eurovision Song Contest can do that for a song and for an artist. I am convinced that we have enough talented, creative people in the Netherlands to take the win again and I will dedicate myself 100% to make that happen! 

Both artists have scored big hits as performers, written and produced many songs for other artists and are well aware of what is going on in the international music market.

Head of Delegation Twan van de Nieuwenhuijzen:“Through our conversations, I know that Jacqueline and Jaap always enjoy following the Eurovision Song Contest and are highly motivated to recognize that one rock-solid song that can conquer all of Europe and the rest of the world. Many unknown and well-known artists have already registered. Now that the selection committee is complete, I am even more looking forward to the final choice that we will make together.”

Selection process

After a devastated result last year, The Netherlands decided to keep the procedure the same as the last 10 years. After all, this selection method resulted that The Netherlands qualified 8 out of the 10 times for the Grand Final. Artists, composers, lyricists, producers and record labels are all invited to submit an authentic, distinctive and competitive song for the contest until Saturday 30 September 23:59 .All entries will be judged by the Eurovision Song Contest Selection Committee. Preference is given to the combination of song plus artist(s). New this year is the option to only submit a song, after which a suitable artist will be sought in consultation with the selection committee.

The Netherlands in Eurovision

The Netherlands entered the first Eurovision Song Contest in 1956. A year later, they won the contest for the first time with Corry Brokken. They even won again in 1959 with Teddy Scholten, setting an early record of 2 victories in the first 4 years. After a record-setting 1950s, the new decade didn’t bring much success to the Dutch entries, until Lenny Kuhr finished as 1 of the 4 winners of the 1969 Eurovision Song Contest.

In 1975, The Netherlands won again after Teach-in opened the show with their song “Ding-a-Dong.” The first time that the show’s opener became the winner! However, the Dutch fortunes changed and it took the country 44 long years to win the contest again. In 2019, Duncan Laurence brought the Eurovision trophy back to The Netherlands with his song “Arcade”

This year, Mia & Dion represented The Netherlands at the Eurovision Song Contest 2023 in Liverpool with their song “Burning Daylight.”  The duo didn’t qualify for the final, ended up in 13th place in the first semi-final with 7 points.

Who do #YOU want to represent The Netherlands at the Eurovision Song Contest 2023? Share your thoughts with us on our forum HERE or join the discussion below in the comments and on social media!

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Melanie Otto
Load More In Announcements

Leave a Reply

Check Also

The Netherlands: Joost Klein released his ESC2024 song “Europapa”

Europe get ready! Dutch representative Joost Klein just released his Eurovision entry R…