Melodifestivalen kicked off its 2023 season tonight in Gothenburg. The Scandinavium played host to the first 7 acts of this years contest and saw 2 qualify to the final and 2 qualify to the semi-final (Second Chance).

Sweden’s biggest show kicked off with Tone Sekelius and ended with John Henrik Fjallgren. The running order was decided a couple months ago and is as follows;

  1. Tone Sekelius – Rhythm of My Show
  2. Loulou Lamotte – Inga Sorger
  3. Rejhan – Haunted
  4. Elov & Beny – Raggen Gar
  5. Victor Crone – Diamonds
  6. Eva Rydberg & Ewa Roos – Lange Leve Livet
  7. Jon Henrik Fjallgren, Arc North feat. Adam Woods – Where You Are

The Qualifiers

Nothing much has changed in this side of Melodifestivalen. The public votes decide who goes through to the next stages with the second round of voting being showed as would be in the final.

The first act announced was Jon Henrik Fjallgren who qualifies Direct to the Final. Following a short interval from Cornelia Jacobs we see the voting screen return. Voting in the heats is now presentsed like the final with points given out. The top 3 give our qualifiers (1st going to final and 2nd &3rd going to the Semi-Final).

Our two qualifiers to the semi-final are Elov & Benny with 43 points, and Victor Crone with 80!

And finally, after all the jubilation it is announced that Tone Sekelius will be going to the Final! They got top points across the board.

Melodifestivalen continues next week in Linkoping where another 7 artists will compete for the next 4 spaces.

The Semi-Final (Second Chance) takes place on the 4th of March with the final in Stockholm following the week after.

Are #YOU happy with the qualifiers from Heat 1? Let us know down below in the comments, on social media @ESCUnited, on our Forum, or on our Discord!

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Alastair C
Load More In 2023

Leave a Reply

Check Also

Producers Choice: The New Way for the Running Order

You have read that right, SVT have made more changes to the Eurovision Song Contest this y…