Every year after Eurovision, the OGAE clubs band together to give a song a “second chance” and go head to head against other national final entries. The clubs decide independently who they wish to nominate, with most clubs hosting a public vote to decide their nominee.

Some clubs choose to put forward a song that either performed well in their selection’s public vote or won the televote outright – but not all. Others will select a general fan favorite entry regardless of it’s placement in the selection – like GUIDI who finished in third place in ESCZ, Felicia Lu who was fourth overal in Germany 12 Points, and Lolita Zero who placed third overall in Pabandom iš Naujo.

An OGAE Second Chance entry cannot have won the contest, which usually is not an issue for clubs. However this year, the official OGAE Second Chance Contest social media pages published that Alina Pash and her entry ‘Tini Zabutykh Predkiv’ were nominated by OGAE Ukraine. This was quickly resolved since Alina was not an eligible entry due to her winning, and then withdrawing from, Vidbir in February. She was later replaced by Roxolana and her song “Girls”.

The list of entries competing this year as nominated by their respective OGAE clubs are as follows:

  1. Roxolana – “Girls” (Ukraine)

  2. Marco Bosnjak – “Moli Za Nas” (Croatia)

  3. MEDINA – “In I Dimman” (Sweden)

  4. Kuba Szmajkowski – “Lovesick” (Poland)

  5. Rigoberta Bandini – “Ay Mama” (Spain)

  6. Eli Huli – “Blinded Dreamers” (Israel)

  7. Rachel Goode – “I’m Loving Me” (Ireland)

  8. La Rappresentante Di Lista – “Ciao ciao” (Italy)

  9. Sara Jo – “Muškarčina” (Serbia)

  10. Bess – “Ram pam pam” (Finland)

  11. Gabriel Basco – “One Night” (Romania)

  12. GIUDI – “Jezinsky” (Czech Republic)

  13. SYRO – “Ainda Nos Tamos’ (Portugal)

  14. Christina Ramos – “Heartless Game” (ROW)

  15. Bermudu divsturis – “BAD” (Latvia)

  16. Felicia Lu – “Anxiety” (Germany)

  17. Daughters of Reykjavik – “Turn This Around” (Iceland)

  18. Alban Ramosaj – “Theje” (Albania)

  19. NorthKid – “Someone” (Norway)

  20. Voyager – “Dreamer” (Australia)

  21. Anna Sahlene – “Champion” (Estonia)

  22. Denise – “Boy” (Malta)

  23. Batista Cadillac – “Mim Pravil” (Slovenia)

  24. Viktor Apostolovski – “Superman” (North Macedonia)

  25. Lolita Zero – “Not Your Mother” (Lithuania)

  26. Fuld Effekt – “Rave Med De Hårde Drenge” (Denmark)

  27. Pauline Chagne – “Nuit Pauline” (France)

The biggest suprise came from OGAE Portugal who nominated SYRO despite his 9th place finish in the Portuguese national final.  ROW’s nomination Cristina Ramos from Spain also finished rather low, ending up in a 5-way tie for eleventh place in the Una Voce Per San Marino final. Readers might be suprised to see Janet Goode of Ireland on the list, but she did come second in the public voting during the Irish selection.

Now that the list has been decided, the OGAE club members will case their votes for their favorite songs in Eurovision style. In order to vote, you will need to be a member of your country’s OGAE club (or OGAE Rest of the World if your country does not have an official OGAE club). Last year’s winner was Norway’s KEiiNO with their MGP song “Monument”, and this marked Norway’s fourth win in the contest.

What do #YOU think of the entries selected? Did your favortie make the list? Let us know on social media @ESCUnited, on our discord, or on our forum page!

Load More Related Articles
Load More By CJ Terry
Load More In Latest News

Leave a Reply

Check Also

EBU release statement addressing concerns raised during 2024 Eurovision Song Contest

Following the conclusion of the 2024 Eurovision Song Contest the European Broadcasting Uni…