The format for the 2014 Irish national selection has been revealed. As with past years the Irish broadcaster has opted for the same format. 5 mentors will have the sole responsibility of selecting 5 entries for the Eurosong 2014.

The national final will be broadcast live on the Late Late Show on the 28th of February.

The Late Late Show is the current host of the Irish Eurosong contest

The 2014 mentors are as follows:

  • Billy McGuiness
  • Hazel Kaneswaran
  • Cormac Battle
  • Valerie Roe
  • Mark Murphy

All details of each mentors entry must be submitted to RTE by January 3rd and the final recorded version by February 3rd.Early in the New Year we expect details of the five acts and songs to be announced.The same voting system of 50% public and 50% regional Jury is being kept for this coming Eurosong.

For the last 4 years Ireland has been more successful than it had been the few years previous. Starting with Niamh Kavanagh in 2010 where she qualified from the semi-final and finished 23rd in the final. Jedward in 2011 where they qualified from the semi-final and finished 8th, Jedward represented Ireland again in 2012 and again qualified from the semi-final and finished 19th in the final and finally Ryan Dolan in 2013 who qualified from the semi-final and finished 26th in the final.

What are you thoughts, How will Ireland fair in the 2014 contest? Share your thoughts below and join our Forum to discuss this with hundreds of Eurovision fans from around the world.

Ryan Dolan performing for Ireland at the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest
Load More Related Articles
Load More By Oisin Keighron
Load More In 2014

Leave a Reply

Check Also

Greece : Songs and Artist’s announced

Today the names of the songs and artists that will be participating in the Greek national …