Last Wednesday, Finnish broadcaster YLE announced the 7 hopefuls who are in the running to fly the Finnish flag in Turin. To keep the hype alive among the Eurovision fans, the broadcaster decided to release the songs on a daily base. You can expect a new song from the national final every weekday at midnight. Our sixth stop: Tommi Läntinen with his song “Elämä kantaa mua”

About Tommi Läntinen

Of all the contestants in this year’s UMK, the one with the longest career is Tommi Läntinen. A musician for over 40 years, Läntinen has released several albums in different groups, performed at thousands of gigs, and collaborated with countless artists. Läntinen launched his solo career in 1994. Some of his biggest solo hits are Via Dolorosa, Syvälle sydämeen sattuu and Kevät ja minä.

Läntinen’s most recent radio hit single Meidän murusia was released in the summer of 2020. It has been over 10 years since his last album of new music was released. This hiatus will come to an end in February, with the release of his new album, Elämä kantaa mua, which is also the title of his UMK entry.

Members of the band Haloo Helsinki! wrote Läntinen’s UMK entry: Leo Hakanen and Jere Marttila composed it and Elli Haloo wrote the lyrics. It’s also the first time the group has written a song for another artist. Elämä kantaa mua is a blend of old-school and next-generation rock, which is complemented by Läntinen’s raspy voice. Läntinen’s UMK entry is about change and the courage it takes, regardless of whether the change involves a personal relationship, work or any big decision in life. It’s that moment when you can’t go back, because “there’s nothing to go back to.”

For Läntinen, who has not released any new music for quite some time, the song feels very fitting: ”Sometimes you just have to close your eyes and make that leap, simply having faith that it will all work out. In many cases it does, when you just let go of the past and surrender to the future.”

In the coming days, Finnish broadcaster YLE will reveal the other songs that are competing in Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu to represent Finland at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2022. You can see the schedule here below:

  • Isaac Sene – “Kuuma jäbä” (Hot ice) (Friday 21 January)

Tomorrow, Isaac Sene with his song “Kuuma jäbä” will be the last release. The premiere of the song will be wednesday at 23:00 CET on the official YouTube channel of Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu and will be released shortly after it on all streaming services.

What do #YOU think of  “Elämä kantaa mua?” Share your thoughts with us on our forum HERE or join the discussion below and on social media!


Load More Related Articles
Load More By Melanie Otto
Load More In 2022

Leave a Reply

Check Also

The Netherlands: Joost Klein released his ESC2024 song “Europapa”

Europe get ready! Dutch representative Joost Klein just released his Eurovision entry R…