Last Wednesday, Finnish broadcaster YLE announced the 7 hopefuls who are in the running to fly the Finnish flag in Turin. To keep the hype alive among the Eurovision fans, the broadcaster decided to release the songs on a daily base. You can expect a new song from the national final every weekday at midnight. Our third stop: legendary rockband The Rasmus with their song “Jezebel”

About The Rasmus

“Do you have time? We have to make the world’s best song and win Eurovision.” This is what The Rasmus frontman Lauri Ylönen wrote in a message to producer Desmond Child. Child has worked with Bon JoviAlice Cooper and Kiss. He also produced The Rasmus’ 2018 Black Roses album. The Eurovision entry contestant Jezebel was written in just a few hours based on Ylönen’s demo, after he told his bandmates about his plan to submit the song in UMK.

Together for nearly 30 years, The Rasmus is one of Finland’s most internationally successful bands. Its biggest hit In the Shadows broke the 100 million stream mark on Spotify. Upon the song’s release in 2003, it was one of the top-selling hits in the world. The Rasmus has released several albums, won numerous music industry awards, and played gigs all over the world. Entering the Eurovision national final was part of the band’s comeback, as it had just taken on a new guitarist, Emppu Suhonen, who launched her own career in Finnish girl band TikTak.

According to the band, Jezebel is a song for strong, independent women, who blaze their own trail.

” Jezebel was a biblical troublemaker, who did things her own way and really shook things up. We wanted to introduce her to the modern-day world. The song is also a bit tongue-in-cheek, which is pretty unusual for The Rasmus” says Ylönen.

In the coming days, Finnish broadcaster YLE will reveal the other songs that are competing in Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu to represent Finland at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2022. You can see the schedule here below:

  • Younghearted – “Sun numero” (Your number) (Tuesday 18 January)
  • Olivera – “Thank God I’m an Atheist” (Wednesday 19 January)
  • Tommi Läntinen – “Elämä kantaa mua” (Life carries me) (Thursday 20 January)
  • Isaac Sene – “Kuuma jäbä” (Hot ice) (Friday 21 January)

Tomorrow, Younghearted with their song “Sun numero” (Your number) will be the next release. The premiere of the song will be sunday at 23:00 CET on the official YouTube channel of Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu and will be released shortly after it on all streaming services.

What do #YOU think of  “Jezebel?” Share your thoughts with us on our forum HERE or join the discussion below and on social media!


Load More Related Articles
Load More By Melanie Otto
Load More In 2022

Leave a Reply

Check Also

The Netherlands: Joost Klein released his ESC2024 song “Europapa”

Europe get ready! Dutch representative Joost Klein just released his Eurovision entry R…