The national final season is slowly getting more and more on the way, and soon we will all be going fast forward, but before we hit the limit, viewers were treated by Estonia and their first semi-final of their national final, which is well known by now as Eesti Laul. The songs have been public for a good while now, so it was about time that we figured out, who no longer will be able to represent Estonia in 2023, and who are the first few acts, to prepare for the final.

Semi-final 1 – Eesti Laul 2023

Tonight’s semi-final featured the first 10 of the overall 20 songs taking part this year, and these were the following acts participating tonight: (In order of performance)

  1. Janek – “House of Glass”
  2. Ellip – “Pretty Girl”
  3. Kaw – “Valik”
  4. Merlyn – “Unicorn Vibes”
  5. Mia – “Üks Samm Korraga”
  6. Neon Letters & Maiko – “Tokimeki”
  7. Ollie – “Venom”
  8. Andreas Poom – “Why Do You Love Me”
  9. Bedwetters – “Monsters”
  10. Anett x Fredi – “You Need to Move On”

The remaining 10 acts will compete in the second semi-final, which will be held on the 14th of January, so not long now until we know all our Estonian finalists.


All of tonight’s qualifiers would be found after two rounds of voting, the first round would be decided by both a professional jury as well as the public vote, while in the second round, only the public would be able to decide. A total of 5 songs could qualify to the final, eliminating half of the competing field. Four qualifiers would be selected from the first round, while the last qualifier would be found in the second round.

After a combined count of both the public and the jury vote, the following four were announced as the first qualifiers: (In random order)

  • Andreas Poom – “Why Do You Love Me”
  • Anett x Fredi – “You Need to Move On”
  • Ollie – “Venom”
  • Bedwetters – “Monsters”

It has also been revealed who took part in the Estonian jury for tonight’s semi-final, these included:

  • The 5 qualifiers of the first semi-final

    Eleryn Tiit

  • Birgit Sarrap
  • Grete Paia
  • Eva Palm
  • Indrek Vaheoja
  • Aarne Saluveer
  • Jaan Tätte Junior
  • Toomas Olljum
  • Danel Pandre
  • Sandra Ashilevi
  • Jon Mikiver

It didn’t stop there, as it was also revealed that the jury had picked (in a random order) Ollie, Anett x Fredi and Andreas Poom as their qualifiers for this first round voting, however their last pick was Ellip with the song “Pretty Girl“, which didn’t qualify, most likely meaning that Bedwetters can thank the public for their qualification.

Round 2 was all on the public on the other hand, and here the public were given an additional 10 minutes to figure out who would take the last spot, in the end Janek could claim this saving spot, and we now know our first 5 finalist for the Estonian national final, which will take place on the 11th of February.

What do #YOU think of tonight’s first semi-final one qualifiers, do #YOU think one of them will win the final?
Let’s hear from #YOU on our forum site right HERE, or visit us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube, TikTok and Discord.

Source(s): (In Estonian)

Load More Related Articles
Load More By David Popescu
Load More In 2023

Leave a Reply

Check Also

🇪🇸 🇭🇷 OGAE Poll 2024: The party ain’t over before the last numbers are counted

As more days as passing by, more votes are slowly revealed from the OGAE clubs around the …