While it promises to be a very different national selection season for 2021, given that a third of Europe has already held firm on their 2020 choices, there is still plenty for Eurovision fans to get excited for going into the long winter. One such source of excitement is Eesti Laul, Estonia’s perennial selection show for the contest which always promises intriguing entries and a healthy dose of star quality.

Yesterday, Estonia’s national broadcaster ERR revealed the first set of semi-finalists in next year’s competition, including some familiar faces;

  • Andrei Zevakin & Pluuto – Wingman
  • Gram-Of-Fun – Lost in a Dance
  • Hans Nayna – One By One
  • Helen – Nii kõrgele
  • Jüri Pootsmann – Magus melanhoolia
  • Kea – Hypnotised
  • Koit Toome – We Could Have Been Beautiful
  • Nika Marula – Calm Down
  • REDEL – Tartu
  • Tuuli Rand – Üks öö
  • Uku Suviste – The Lucky One
  • WIIRALT – Tuuled

Of course, three names from this list immediately jump out. Former Eurovision participants Koit Toome (1998 and 2017) and Jüri Pootsmann (2016) are back to fight for Estonia’s Eurovision ticket once again.

Uku Suviste also returns after being chosen for the ill-fated 2020 contest, penning his entry alongside Sharon Vaughn, co-writer of Sergey Lazarev’s “Scream” and Stefania’s “SUPERG!RL”. Perhaps his entry title indicates that this experience may factor into the message behind the song?

Dig a little deeper into this list and more names become apparent; REDEL’s entry “Tartu” is written by Winny Puhh members Kristjan Oden and Indrek Vaheoja. Kéa also returns to Eesti Laul, having taken part in 2016 with “Lonely Boy” but only finishing 9th in the final that year. Tuuli Rand formerly took part as as member of Öed in 2019 and with Teele Vira & Ula in 2013, and Andrei Zevakin was formerly a member of xtra basic in 2019.

The second batch of semi-finalists, just announced, are as follows;

  • Karl Killing – Kiss Me
  • Egert Milder – Free Again
  • Rahel – Sunday Night
  • Sissi – Time
  • Alabama Watchdog – Alabama Watchdog
  • Kristin Kalnapenk – Find a Way
  • Tanja – Best Night Ever
  • Heleza – 6
  • Uku Haasma – Kaos
  • Suured tüdrukud – Heaven’s Not That Far Tonight
  • Kadri Voorand – Energy
  • Ivo Linna, Robert Linna & Supernova – Ma Olen Siin

A number of returning artists were announced from this batch – Karl Killing, who sung with Karl Kristjan in 2018; Egert Milder, who took part in 2020 with “Georgia (On My Mind)”; Sissi, who took part with “Strong” in 2019; Tanja, who represented Estonia in 2014 and was part of The Swingers in 2019, and Ivo Linna who represented Estonia in 1996 and also took part in Eesti Laul 2017. Suured tüdrukud’s entry is also co-written by Koit Toome and Karl Killing.

Eesti Laul will take place across three shows, with two semi-finals on 18th and 20th February 2021, with the final to follow on 6th March 2021.

What do #YOU think of the line-up for Eesti Laul 2021? Share your thoughts with us below, on social media or on our forum HERE!

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Sean Tarbuck
Load More In 2021

Leave a Reply

Check Also

Özkan Uğur, two-time Turkish Eurovision artist with MFÖ, has died aged 69

Özkan Uğur, one of Turkey’s most celebrated musicians as member of the band MFÖ, has…