Cover photo: Andres Putting (EBU)


We have a winner! After months of fan speculation and a close hype race leading up to tonight’s contest, the votes are in and Portugal has won this year’s Eurovision Song Contest!

Portugal’s Salvador Sobral stunned the audience and viewing public with his touching rendition of “Amar pelos dois” to become Portugal’s first ever Eurovision champion after 49 entries and a staggering 54 years since the country debuted in the contest – ending a drought in dramatic style much like Finland’s Lordi in 2006. As a result the contest will be held on the Iberian peninsula next year for the first time since Madrid hosted in 1969 and only the second time ever.

The full ranking of the contestants in this year’s contest are as follows;

  1. Portugal
  2. Bulgaria
  3. Moldova
  4. Belgium
  5. Sweden
  6. Italy
  7. Romania
  8. Hungary
  9. Australia
  10. Norway
  11. The Netherlands
  12. France
  13. Croatia
  14. Azerbaijan
  15. United Kingdom
  16. Austria
  17. Belarus
  18. Armenia
  19. Greece
  20. Denmark
  21. Cyprus
  22. Poland
  23. Israel
  24. Ukraine
  25. Germany
  26. Spain

What do #YOU think of the winner? Should someone else have won? Do you look forward to next year’s host country? Share what you think of the contest’s result below, on social media or join the busy discussion on our forum right now!

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Sean Tarbuck
Load More In 2017

One Comment

  1. […] Europe is still celebrating Portugal’s win at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest in Kyiv, a lot of die-hard fans started analyzing the results […]

Leave a Reply

Check Also

Özkan Uğur, two-time Turkish Eurovision artist with MFÖ, has died aged 69

Özkan Uğur, one of Turkey’s most celebrated musicians as member of the band MFÖ, has…