At this stage in the year we start to finalise which countries will be joining the celebrations at the next year’s Eurovision and as the nights draw in and the air gets colder, the 2017 contest is no exception. So let’s take a look at the current state of play and see who is joining the party in 2017!

Planning to take part: Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malta, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom.

Already quite a lengthy list with a back-to-back dose of good news, as both Portugal and Romania look set to return to the fun in Ukraine. Perhaps it is the fact that we are off Swedish soil which has brought the Portuguese back? We are still yet to hear from the EBU whether Romania will be allowed to participate in May but we have all of our fingers crossed they can return after being ousted at the last minute in 2016.


Undecided: Australia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Georgia, Moldova, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia

For some, this is simply a matter of being allowed in like Australia, others have been silent on the issue, and some have given some positive vibes. Bulgaria look almost certain to be in following their triumphant return in 2016 but no official word from the EBU or BNT has been given yet. This is likely to be the case with many of the others too.

San Marino and Bosnia & Herzegovina have both given indication that they may not be present in Ukraine, with the former showing dissatisfaction with changes to the voting system in Sweden and the latter suffering from financial troubles and the possible collapse of the member broadcaster. We all hope that they will be present in Ukraine however.

Out: Andorra, Luxembourg, Monaco, Turkey

With Turkey confirming they will stay away from the contest in 2017 with continued dissatisfaction with the format, we are now on four countries declining the kind offer of the EBU. In the microstate case this is understandable although efforts are being made to try and tempt these countries back to the contest.

The deadline for countries to confirm their interest to the EBU has already passed, and any withdrawals are expected to be made in time for the deadline of 10th October. With just a few countries to decide on their participation, we seem to be edging closer to another exciting and dramatic season!

Which countries are you desperate to see in Ukraine? Share your thoughts below or join the discussion on social media!

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Sean Tarbuck
Load More In 2017

Leave a Reply

Check Also

Özkan Uğur, two-time Turkish Eurovision artist with MFÖ, has died aged 69

Özkan Uğur, one of Turkey’s most celebrated musicians as member of the band MFÖ, has…