Brussels, 6 November 2020

You may not have followed it, but tonight the Masked Singer Belgium reached its glorious conclusion. None other than Eurovision’s very own Sandra Kim emerged victorious from a field of ten participants. For the part she, quite aptly perhaps, donned the costume of de Koningin [the Queen]. Kim is Belgium’s only Eurovision winner to date and was identified almost instantaneously by the audience. She was the hot favourite to win ever since.


De Koningin wasn’t the only contestant to provide a Eurovision connection. De Duiker [the Diver] turned out to be the alter ego of Laura Tesoro’s ex Giovanni Kemper and, during his time performed two songs of the Eurovision canon: Daði & Gagnamagnið’s ‘Thing about Things‘ (Iceland 2020) *and* Duncan Laurence’s ‘Arcade‘. (Netherlands 2019)




Duiker/Kemper would end up placing second to Sandra Kim’s Koningin.

About the show

As you may know, The Masked Singer is the Americanised version of a Korean singing competition where celebrities dress up as various figures (such as a Mermaid, an Otter or a Candyfloss) and sing incognito. Through the proceedings, viewers are peppered with possible clues as to the true idenity of those underneath the mask, as the disguised celebs square off against each other in head-to-head singing duels.

To add levity to the show, a panel of supposed “experts” (offcially “a jury”; in reality, an assortment of B-listers paid to say deliberately stupid things on cam) make an attempt at dissecting the clues and guessing the identity of each singer. Belgium’s panel included Ingeborg (1989) and Laura Tesoro (2016) as guest judges.

Participations from former Eurovision alumni have been proven common in the European and Australian versions, including but not being limited to Poli Genova, Willeke Alberti and Kate Miller-Heidke.  Sandra Kim is the merely second Eurovision Alum to win The Masked Singer, however. Earlier this year, Nadine Beiler (2011; “The Secret Is Love”) won the Austrian version while Rita Guerra (2003; “Deixa me sonhar”) won the Portuguese version as well. Max Mutzke (2004; “Can’t Wait Until Tonight”) won the German version of the show in 2019.

Like our content? Consider supporting us on Patreon HERE to help us continue our work to bring the contest to #YOU!


Load More Related Articles
Load More By Boris Meersman
Load More In Belgium

Leave a Reply

Check Also

Belgium: Flemish broadcaster VRT confirms their participation in 2025, with “Eurosong” as their national final.

Peter van de Veire, VRT’s commentator to the Eurovision Song Contest confirmed to th…