Today the Norwegian Eurovision pre-selection show Melodi Grand Prix kicked off, with seven artists taking to the stage to win a spot in the Final. This is also the first MGP show to feature a live audience since the 2020 final in Trondheim.

The first semi-final featured three of the four returning Eurovision artists, alongside MGP debutants Alessandra Mele, Eirik Næss, Umami Tsunami, Rasmus Thall, and Byron Williams Jr (featuring MGP winner JOWST). The official running order for the semi-final was decided randomly by NRK prior to the show, and would see Alessandra open the show and Byron Williams Jr. and JOWST close. The full running order is as follows:

  1. Alessandra Mele – “Queen of Kings
  2. Eirik Næss – “Wave
  3. Rasmus Thall – “Tresko
  4. Kate Gulbrandsen – “Tårer i paradis
  5. Umami Tsunami – “Geronimo
  6. Ulrikke – “Honestly
  7. Byron Williams Jr. and JOWST – “Freaky for the Weekend

The qualifiers for tonight show were decided by a 100% public vote, but unlike in prior year’s the televoting system was not open throughout the entire broadcast. Instead, NRK opened the voting system after all seven performances had been completed.

At the end of the show, hosts Arian Engebø and Stian Thorbjørnsen announced that Umami Tsunami, Ulrikke, and Alessandra Mele had received the most votes from the public and will be moving on to the Grand Final. Melodi Grand Prix continues next week where another seven artists will compete for their spot in the final on February 4th.

Do #YOU agree with tonight’s qualifiers in Melodi Grand Prix? Let us know on social media @ESCUnited, on our discord, or on our forum page!

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Connor Terry
Load More In 2023

Leave a Reply

Check Also

Poll: Who do you think should win ESCZ 2024?

The Eurovision selection season has officially begun, as Czechia’s national selectio…