We finally have some meaty Eurovision 2017 news to bring you; eight acts have been confirmed to fight for a wildcard entry to Melodifestivalen 2017!

As in the last few years, Sveriges Radio’s competition Svensktoppen nästa (named after the airplay chart in Sweden) will decide one of the participants in the usually 32-strong field of Sweden’s Eurovision selection. Last year’s winners Smilo (formerly Smajling Swedes) finished 5th in their semi-final, but can any of this year’s choices make it further into the competition?

Eight performers have been whittled down from 25 with each artist chosen by a local authority of P4 radio.

The eight chosen finalists are;

  • Jimmy Ottosson – Rising Rivers
  • Mackan n Matthew – Allt som vi va
  • Vindstyrka 12 – Sluta gömma dig
  • Les Gordons – Need To Feel
  • Small Town Girls – Do Your Thing
  • SaVe – 2 Wrongs Don’t Make 1 Right
  • LiRic – Bullshit Affair
  • Noomi – Intoxicated

You can hear the shortlisted finalists HERE. Voting closes on August 28th during the final show live on P4 radio between 14:00 and 16:00 CET and Swedes can vote via SMS using the voting rules on the Svensktoppen nästa website.

As the normal cut-off for Eurovision entries is 1st September, the winning participants will have to change their song should they win the competition. We’re sure LiRic would have to change something without this rule however!

Which is your favourite of the wildcard hopefuls? Share your thoughts with us here, on our forum or social media!

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Sean Tarbuck
Load More In 2017

Leave a Reply

Check Also

Özkan Uğur, two-time Turkish Eurovision artist with MFÖ, has died aged 69

Özkan Uğur, one of Turkey’s most celebrated musicians as member of the band MFÖ, has…