The Slovene national broadcaster has announced today the line-up for the Slovene Eurovision song selection. EMA 2014 will be broadcast on March 8th at 20:00 CET, live from Ljubljana. And while a panel of music experts, including two-time Slovene ESC representative Darja Svajger, has decided on the seven artists competing, the ultimate decision will be given to the audience via televoting.

The artists fighting it out for the honour to represent Slovenia at ESC 2014 are the following:

  1. Bilbi
  2. Muff
  3. Nermin Puskar and Samuel Lucas
  4. Nude
  5. Omar Naber
  6. Rudi Bucar and Elevators
  7. Tinkara Kovac
Slovene EMA 2014 contestants. Courtesy of
Slovene EMA 2014 contestants. Courtesy of

You will notice, as dedicated ESC fans, that Omar Naber, the Slovene representative from 2005 is on the list, which is rather exciting. In 2005, he got stuck in the Semi Final, placing a respectable 12th out of 25 countries, with 69 points. From the other contestants, Nermin Puskar was a part of the Bosnia-Herzegovina delegation in 2009, while Rudi Bucar was a backing vocalist for the excellent Alenka Gotar in 2007.

On another note: as transparency seems to be an unofficial theme of ESC 2014, RTV SLO has decided to heavily feature social media in their quest for Eurovision glory. You can follow them on the official ESC Slovenija Youtube page, Facebook page,  or EMA 2014 Twitter account.

Happy with the Slovene selection? While ESC fans love a former artist’s return, lately returning artists have had a poor track record – does this hurt Omar’s chances? What do you think?


Source: RTV SLO



Load More Related Articles
Load More By Slavisa Mijatovic
Load More In 2014

Leave a Reply

Check Also

Bosnia & Herzegovina withdraws after all

BHRT has announced today that Bosnia & Herzegovina will be withdrawing after all. The …