The Portuguese national broadcaster, RTP, has unveiled the 20 composers who will compete at the forthcoming edition of Festival da Cançao 2023.

Source: RTP, Photo of the 20 Festival da Cançao 2023 composers

RTP has whittled down its 667 entries in quest to find its 2023 Eurovision entry. The broadcaster has finalized the list so that a total of 20 songs will compete in the competition (15 selected via an invitation extended to established composers and 5 selected via an open call).

Initially, RTP sought to invite 16 composers to submit an entry. Nevertheless, due to unforeseen circumstances, one of the artists was not able to submit an entry, hence RTP selected five entries via its open call to reach the final number of 20.

The 15 invited composers by RTP are:

  • André Henriques
  • April Ivy
  • Bandua
  • Bárbara Tinoco
  • Churky
  • Cláudia Pascoal
  • Dapunksportif
  • Ivandro
  • Jacinta
  • Neon Soho
  • Quim Albergaria 
  • Sal
  • Teresinha Landeiro
  • The Happy Mess
  • You Can’t Win Charlie Brown

The 15 invited composers will join the five entries from the open submission call:

  • Edmundo Inácio
  • Inês Apenas
  • Mimicat
  • Moyah
  • Voodoo Marmalade

Among the invited composers, fans of Eurovision will recognize Claudia Pascoal who represented Portugal at the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest in Lisbon.

A total of 20 acts will compete to represent Portugal in Liverpool: 10 acts will compete in each semi-final, the top 6 entries from each semi-final will proceed to the Grand Final of Festival da Cançao.

Who are #YOU excited to see perform at FdC? Are #YOU excited to stay up late to watch? Sound off on our forum site right HERE, or visit us on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutubeTikTok and Discord.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Daniel Montoya
Load More In 2023

Leave a Reply

Check Also

🇦🇹 Austria: Kaleen Releases Eurovision 2024 entry “We Will Rave”

Austria’s 2024 representative Kaleen has released her song “We Will Rave”. Kaleen ha…