We are slowly getting close to the end of this year’s season of national finals, but some might say we’re saving the best until the end! Norway were one of the few ones left, and so tonight, Melodi Grand Prix 2018 took place in Oslo.


Norway has been on a roll lately, with top 10 places every year since 2013, except in 2016 when they didn’t qualify, and tonight they had the most Eurovision-ish national final this year. A number of tonight’s acts have previously won Melodi Grand Prix, which means they’ve represented Norway in the past already.

Melodi Grand Prix 2018!

10 acts performed tonight in Oslo Spektrum and the show was hosted by Kåre Magnus Bergh and Silya Nymoen.

These were the 10 acts:

  1. Stella & Alexandra – “You Got Me”
  2. Aleksander Walmann – “Talk To The Hand”
  3. Ida Maria – “Scandilove”
  4. Nicoline – “Light Me Up”
  5. Tom Hugo – “I Like I Like I Like”
  6. Charla K – “Stop The Music”
  7. Alejandro Fuentes – “Tengo Otra”
  8. Vidar Villa – “Moren Din”
  9. Rebecca – “Who We Are”
  10. Alexander Rybak – “That’s How You Write A Song”

As promised, it was a very Eurovision influenced final in Norway. Eurovision fans will notice that in the line-up we have Alexander Rybak who won Eurovision in 2009, with the song “Fairytale“. We also have Aleksander Walmann, who was the singer on stage for Norway in Kiev last year, performing the song “Grab The Moment” along with JOWST. There is also Stella, whose full name is Stella Mwangi, who represented Norway in 2011 with “Haba Haba“. If you thought that wasn’t enough, then we also have Kjetil Mørland, who represented Norway in 2015 with the song “A Monster Like Me“, who composed the song “Who We Are” performed by Rebecca.


Before we found our winner, we had to eliminate a few songs first, just to make it more entertaining. A combined jury and televote decided the 4 acts that would move on to the next round.

The following were the 4 Gold Finalists:

  • Stella & Alexandra
  • Rebecca
  • Aleksander Walmann
  • Alexander Rybak

After they were announced, a second round of voting commenced, but this time only the televoters got a say!

These 2 acts then moved on to the Gold Duel, and got another shot at performing their song:

  • Rebecca
  • Alexander Rybak

The votes for these 2 acts was not reset, instead they kept their votes from after the Gold Finalists were announced and people added to their totals during the Gold Duel.

Since no amount of votes were announced, then we got a simple announcement with the winner being… well you should know from the title, Alexander Rybak!

With this, Alexander Rybak will once again represent Norway at the Eurovision Song Contest with his song “That’s How You Write A Song“.

Do #YOU think that Alexander can win Eurovision once again, and do #YOU think that is how you actually write a song? We’d like to know as always, so remember to share your opinion – either below or on our forum HERE

Load More Related Articles
Load More By David Popescu
Load More In 2018

Leave a Reply

Check Also

ESC 2025: Multiple host city options for Switzerland

Switzerland is known for various things, but when it comes to the Eurovision Song Contest,…