Eurovision fans rejoyce, as yet another country will be joining the national final list next year! The North Macedonian broadcaster announced today that they will use a national final to choose their Eurovision 2022 entry for the first time since 2015.

In addition to the announcement the broadcaster launched a call for composers and musicians who wish to represent their country to submit an entry. All performers need to be citizens of North Macedonia, but international songwriters will be allowed to submit so long as the performer meets the citizenship requirements. Anyone interested will have until January 16th, 2022 to submit their fully complete entries (not demos) to [email protected] with the following information:

  • Names of the songwritting team and performer(s)
  • Biography of the team and performer(s)
  • Title of the composition
  • Song Lyrics in either Macedonian or Enligh
  • Contact information
  • Relevant information like website or social media

Once the submission window closes, MRT will select up to 6 total entries to move on to national final in some capacity, and the winner will be selected through a 50% public vote and 50% international jury vote. The winner will not only win the right to perform in Turin this coming May, but will also receive 2,000 euros to cover the post-production costs and any final mastering needed ahead of Eurovision.

North Macedonia has utilized an internal selection process for all Eurovision entries since 2016, and despite the surprising 7th place finish in 2019 with Tamara Todevska’s song “Proud”, they failed to qualify in 2021 with Vasil’s song “Here I Stand”. Vasil finished 15th in the first semi-final just ahead of Ireland and behind Australia.

Are #YOU excited about the new national final? Let us know on social media @ESCUnited, on our discord, or on our forum page!

Load More Related Articles
Load More By CJ Terry
Load More In 2022

Leave a Reply

Check Also

🇦🇱 Albania: Besa’s revamped Eurovision entry “TiTAN” has been released!

The final revamped version of Besa’s song “TiTAN”, the Albanian entry fo…