This morning, RAI announced the 22 Big Artists who will compete at the Sanremo Music Festival in February. They also announced a change to the selection process for new artsts. Unlike last year when three winners of Sanremo Giovani joined the big artists on stage, this year six winners will advance to the big festival.

This change marks an increased focus on new and emerging talent at Sanremo. As Amadeus, musical director and four-time host of the festival, explained:

“The Sanremo Festival must focus on tradition which is essential for its strength, but also, if not above all, on young people. In a concrete way: by giving them a real opportunity. Putting them on the pitch and making them play as starters.”

The 22 Big Artists competing at Sanremo are:

  • Giorgia
  • Articolo 31
  • Elodie
  • Colapesce Dimartino
  • Ariete
  • Modà
  • Mara Sattei
  • Leo Gassmann
  • I Cugini Di Campagna
  • Mr. Rain
  • Marco Mengoni
  • Anna Oxa
  • Lazza 
  • Tananai
  • Paola & Chiara
  • Lda
  • Madame
  • Gianluca Grignani
  • Rosa Chemical
  • Coma_cose
  • Levante
  • Ultimo  

Two notable returning artists are Anna Oxa and Giorgia. Anna Oxa has competed at Sanremo fourteen times since 1978, winning twice in 1989 and 1999, and hosting the festival in 1994. Giorgia has competed three times before, and won once in 1995. Other returning artists include Elodie (2017, 2020); Coma_cose (2021); Colapesce Dimartino (2021); Levante (2020); Modà (2011, 2013); Madame (2021); Marco Mengoni (2010, 2013); Paola & Chiara (1998); Tananai (2022); and Ultimo (2019).

The 22 artists’ competing songs will be announced during the final of Sanremo Giovani on December 16, though the songs themselves will not be revealed until the first two nights of Sanremo.

Are #YOU more excited to hear the songs of the returning artists or the new artists this year? Sound off in the forum right HERE, or visit us on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Discord.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Alice Christine
Load More In 2023

Leave a Reply

Check Also

The winner of Das Deutsche Finale 2024 is Isaak!

Tonight, 9 acts competed to represent Germany in Malmö this May, and in the end the winner…