The season is slowly heating up, since now the Hungarian national broadcaster (MTVA) has revealed the 30 acts that will compete in the national selection for 2019.


Once again, Hungary will be using their national final “A Dal” in order to select their entry for the upcoming contest to be held in Tel-Aviv. The national final has proven it’s success for Hungary, resulting in Hungary always being among the finalists at Eurovision since the show was launched back in 2012, albeit with some ups and downs with the final results.

A Dal 2019

30 Acts will compete for the 2019 edition of the show, and the winner will be decided across a total of 6 televised shows. The 30 acts will be divided into 3 heats, which each will consist of 10 songs. Afterwards there will be 2 semi-finals, which each will consist of 9 songs from the 3 heats. Finally the big final will take place in late February consisting of 8 finalists.

Here you can see the full list of the participants (Alphabetical order):

Pápai Joci is among the 2019 A Dal participants
  1. Acoustic Planet – Nyári zápor
  2. Antal Timi feat. Demkó Gergő – Kedves Világ!
  3. Berkes Olivér – Lighthouse
  4. Deniz – Ide várlak vissza
  5. Diana – Little Bird
  6. Fatal Error – Kulcs
  7. Gotthy – Csak egy perc
  8. Hajdu Klára – You’re Gonna Rise
  9. Hamar Barni – Wasted
  10. Heatlie Dávid – La Mama Hotel
  11. Konyha – Százszor visszajátszott
  12. Kyra – Maradj még
  13. Leander Kills – Hazavágyom
  14. Mocsok 1 Kölykök – Majd wgyszer
  15. Monyo Project – Run Baby Run
  16. Nagy Bogi – Holnap
  17. Nomad – A remény hídjai
  18. Oláh Gergő – Hozzád bújnék
  19. Pápai Joci – Az én apám
  20. Pátkai Rozina – Frida
  21. Petruska – elp Me Out of Here
  22. Ruby Harlem – Forró
  23. Salvus – Barát
  24. Szekér Gergő – Madár, repülj!
  25. The Middletonz – Roses
  26. The Sign – Ő
  27. USNK – Posztolj
  28. Vavra Bence – Szótlanság
  29. Váray László – Someone Who Lives Like This
  30. yesyes – Incomplete

After having a look into the list of participants, the most familiar name would most likely be Pápai Joci since he represented Hungary in 2017 with the song “Origo“, which finished 8th in the final. However, there are more familiar faces as well, as there is also quite a good amount of familiar names.

András Kallay-Saunders is also back, he is taking part in the competition under the group name The Middletonz. Back in 2014, Kallay-Saunders represented Hungary with the song “Running“, achieving the second best result for Hungary, by finishing 5th in the Grand Final.

Among the others that are returning to A Dal, are names such as Antal Timi (2015), Berkes Olivér (2016 & 2017), Leander Kills (2015, 2017 & 2018), Kyra (2017), Oláh Gergő (2015-2017), DENIZ (2018), Petruska (2016), Vavra Bence (2016 & 2018), yesyes (2018) and finally Ádám Szabó (2013, 2015, 2017 & 2018).

The Show!

The show format will stay the same as it has been for the past few years. The 3 heats will take part on the 19th and 26th of January, as well on February 2nd. The five best ranked songs from a combined jury/televote will qualify to the semi-finals, while a sixth song from each heat will also be picked.

A total of 18 songs will then take part across the two semi-finals, with 9 songs in each of the semi-finals. The semi-finals will take place on the 9th and the 16th of February. The same method with the jury/televote will be used here as well, to select the top 3 from each semi-final, with a fourth song from both semi-finals also qualifying, resulting in the final consisting of 8 acts.

The A Dal 2019 final will then take place on the 23rd of February. It will consist of the selected 8 songs, and the winner will be decided in two rounds of voting. In the first round, the jury will select the four best suited songs to qualify to the super-final. While in the super-final the winner will be fully decided by the televoters. The winner will then represent Hungary in Tel-Aviv.

Speaking of the jurors and their involvement, the jury will consist of the following 4 members; Feró NagyVincze LillaField Misi and Begge Miklos.

The show will be hosted by Dallos-Nyer Boglárka (Bogi), she took part in A Dal in 2013, 2014 & 2015 and Fehérvári Gábor Alfréd (Freddie), he represented Hungary in 2016 with the song “Pioneer“.

Are #YOU looking forward to A Dal 2019 and who do #YOU have a have expectation for? Share your thoughts with us on our forum, below in the comments and on social media!


Load More Related Articles
Load More By David Popescu
Load More In 2019

Leave a Reply

Check Also

🇨🇭 Switzerland: “The Code” has been broken by Nemo

Since 2019, Switzerland have selected their entry for the contest internally, which proved…