Contact us

Lets help poor girl practice her english))

escandesc

Haven't you learned about the "magic E"? :O

I learned that in elementary school xD

well, in Turkey our dear(!) teachers only teach us grammar. I've never run into a teacher who also teaches pronunciation. :eek: and when you listen to a Turkish speaking, you can easily find out that. I know many people who are good at grammar but not good at pronunciation. I don't blame them, though. and I don't think that only your so-called ''magic E'' can do that btw.

Sultana

Sometimes I wish I were British or American or at least a native speaker of English. :lol: I've been learning English for 5 years ( I don't count English that I learned at primary school.) and still I make mistakes. When reading the news, I find out there are still some words I don't know, which makes me go crazy. And also, the pronunciation of English is really hard!!! I mean, in Turkish we don't change the pronunciation of a word when we add a suffix to it. In English, they do! Knowing the pronunciation of a word doesn't mean that you can always pronounce it correctly when added a suffix. Look at ''serene'' and ''serenity''. The suffix -ity changes the pronunciation. But why? :D The only thing that is easy about English is its grammar, I suppose. The rest is really hard. :D I don't know why I wrote this message btw. Anyway... I love English. :D

Well i find pronunciation easier than grammar. I make a lot of mistakes in it . But when I compare my native language and English I find the second easier ;) Because in my native there are a lot of different exepctions and rules. Sooo hard to write sometimes correct :(

ShoeFlo

Well, it's good to see, that I'm not the only person who has doubts about his English skills :D

I can imagine that's much harder for Turkish people to learn English than for German people like me... Turkish has a very different syntax and is a agglutinative language.