Estonia has been quite hectic lately, by sharing small, yet very interesting details, regarding their national final this year, which will have a new format. Among the details, we will look into the amount of submissions received, the people who have heard and judged the submissions and lastly, the hosts who will guide us to the Eesti Laul winner of 2024.

Eesti Laul 2024 – Recap

To begin with, the Estonian national broadcaster (ERR) revealed some time ago, that by the end of the deadline placed by the broadcaster, a total of 215 songs had been submitted to the Estonian broadcaster. Among them, they even revealed that there were 126 songs in English, 88 songs in Estonian and even one song in Italian.

Out of the 215 songs submitted, only 20 of them will be selected to compete in the 2024 national final, and for this year, ERR decided to go with a jury that consist of people with various forms of expertise when it comes to music, songwriting and anything that could be of interest in the musical business.

The broadcaster has even been this transparent, that they have revealed that a total of 41 different people, made up the jury and even shared who they were in the different categories. Below you can see each category and who took part of the jury for selecting the 20 songs for the Estonian national final.

Singers, performers and conductors:

Authors and producers:

  • Bert Brikenfeldt
  • Heini Vaikmaa
  • Maian-Anna Kärmas
  • Priit Pajusaar

Music teachers:

  • Airi Liiva
  • Ivi Rausi
  • Margot Suur

TV & Radio representatives:

  • Andres Aljaste
  • Andres Oja
  • Andres Panksepp
  • Juhan Paadam
  • Koit Raudsepp
  • Magnus Müürsepp
  • Martin Korjus
  • Owe Petersell
  • Pille Minev
  • Rauno Märks
  • Rein Fuks
  • Robert Kõrvits
  • Sten Teppan
  • Tarmo Krimm

Representatives of various music organizations:

  • Danel Pandre
  • Ülar-Johannes Palm
  • Vaiko Eplik

Music lovers:

  • Anna-Aurelia Kangur
  • Alice Aleksandrini
  • Evert Poom
  • Gerd Eston Sepp
  • Jüri Nael
  • Raivo Ojaand

The final part that remains to be answered, is who will have the honor of guiding not only Estonian viewers, but also international viewers, through the semi-final and the final. We also now know, that the honor has fallen upon Tõnis Niinemets and Grete Kuld, who together will guide everyone through the semi-final that is set to take place on the 20th of January 2023, and the final that will take place on the 17th of February 2023. The pair is also certain to be a great deal, as the two also hosted Eesti Laul together as well in 2021 and 2023.

Tõnis Niinemets, had the following to share as well(translated):

  • For me, Eesti Laul is like Christmas or a birthday. This time of the year I look forward to even more excitedly than summer. And it’s especially nice to be able to go to Tartu again this year!

Grete Kuld also had the following to say(translated):

  • The semi-final in Tartu is going to be awesome! We will bring a big stage, lots of cameras, 15 semi-finalists and definitely a long ladder so that Tõnis can get the high notes, because we also plan to take the stage with a little surprise.

All that is left to be announced, is the acts who will compete in the national final, which we don’t even need to wait to long for anymore, as all the participants will be revealed during the show “Ringvaate“. The 15 semi-finalists will be revealed November 6th, while the finalists will be revealed November 7th. However, the songs participating will first be revealed in December.

Estonia is surely gearing up this year, are #YOU going to watch Eesti Laul 2024 and who would #YOU like to see amoung the participants?
Let’s hear from #YOU on our forum site right HERE, or visit us on Facebook, X(Twitter), Instagram, Youtube, TikTok and Discord.

Source(s): Songs submitted, list of juriesthe hosts (all by and in Estonian)

Load More Related Articles
Load More By David Popescu
Load More In 2024

Leave a Reply

Check Also

🇵🇹 🇪🇸 Portugal & Spain: Representatives for JESC 2024 decided

Currently, there’s a lot of attention towards where the next Eurovision Song Contest…