Today marks the final day for any broadcaster with an active membership in the European Broadcasting Union to apply for participation in Eurovision 2023.

After this, no additional broadcaster will be able to participate in the contest that did not originally apply – but broadcasters who submitted an application can still withdraw prior to October 11th without financial penalty. Any decisions to withdraw after that date will result in the payment of a withdraw fee.

What we know about Eurovision 2023 so far

There are currently 32 countries who have already announced their intentions to participate in the Eurovision Song Contest 2023, and many of them have also announced their selection plans, opened song submissions, or in the case of Israel, selected their Eurovision artist internally. The list of participating countries as of today is as follows:

  • Albania ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ฑ
  • Australia ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ
  • Austria ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡น
  • Belgium ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช
  • Cyprus ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡พ
  • Denmark ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ
  • Estonia ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ช
  • Finland ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ
  • France ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท
  • Georgia ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ช
  • Germany ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช
  • Greece ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ท
  • Iceland ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ธ
  • Ireland ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ช
  • Israel ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ฑ
  • Italy ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡น
  • Latvia ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ป
  • Lithuania ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡น
  • Malta ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡น
  • Netherlands ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ
  • Norway ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ด
  • Poland ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ
  • Portugal ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡น
  • Romania ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ด
  • San Marino ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฒ
  • Serbia ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ธ
  • Slovenia ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฎ
  • Spain ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ธ
  • Sweden ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช
  • Switzerland ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ญ
  • Ukraine ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ฆ
  • United Kingdom ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง

There are also 8 countries that participated in Turin who have not publicly expressed their intentions to compete: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Moldova, Montenegro, and North Macedonia. So long as they privately complete the EBU application, these broadcasters are allowed to announce their participation after the deadline to the public.

Could we see any debuts or returns in 2023?

Of course, additional countries could debut or return at the 2023 contest so long as they have an active EBU membership and apply or are invited to compete by the EBU itself. Kazakhstan debuted in Junior Eurovision 2018 by special invitation of the EBU, and has been trying to negotiate a debut at the Eurovision Song Contest through invitation ever since. Kosovo has also been interested in competing and said in May that they aim to get EBU status for their broadcaster RTK by the end of 2022.

Former countries Andorra, Slovakia, Luxembourg, and Monaco have all rulled out a return to the contest next year, and Hungary and Turkey are not expected to return either. Bosnia and Herzegovina will not be eligible to participate until their EBU debt is paid in full. Former participant Morocco vowed to never participate again after their second-to-last placement in the 1980 contest, despite still holding EBU membership. Additionally, Liechtenstein’s broadcaster also confirmed in August that they are no longer applying for EBU membership, ruling out their debut.

This means that Kazakhstan and Kosovo remain as the only possible countries who could participate and were not present in Turin.

Are #YOU excited that the 2023 Eurovision contest is coming together slowly? Let us know on social media @ESCUnited, on ourย discord, or on ourย forum page!

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Connor Terry
Load More In 2023

Leave a Reply

Check Also

Mariyah LeBerg Interview: “My song is about how we’re all just human in spite of everyone trying to be perfect.”

Denmark has released the eight artists competing in Dansk Melodi Grand Prix, which means w…