Bună seara from Iasi! The weekend is not over before Romania says so. The first semi-final has just concluded, and with that we now know half of the songs that will compete in the final in Bucharest.


Live from the Moldavian capital of Iasi, in northern Romania, 11 acts competed in the first semi-final in order to progress to the final and another shot of performing for the Romanian viewers.

Without further ado, this was tonight’s performers in the following order:

  1. Trooper – “Destin”
  2. Berniceya – “The Call: Dynasty of Love”
  3. Ommieh & Anakrisez – “Rock This Way”
  4. Teodora  Dinu – “Skyscraper”
  5. DYA & Lucian Colareza – “Without You (Sin Ti)”
  6. Nicola – “Weight of The World”
  7. Steam  – “The Way It Goes”
  8. Vaida – “Underground”
  9. Claudiu Mirea – “We Are The Ones”
  10. The Four – “Song of My Heart”
  11. Bella Santiago – “Army of Love”

Originally, 12 songs were due to perform in this semi-final, but after an agreement with TVR, Laura Bretan was moved to the second semi-final. Therefore 13 songs will compete in the other semi-final, which is going to take place in the city of Arad.

The Results!

Luckily, TVR didn’t go all crazy like last year (Yeah, come on! 60 songs across 6 shows, that was a nightmare!), and limited themselves this time, after a fast introduction from the hosts and an opening show featuring past Romanian winners, we went straight to the songs.

The qualifiers from tonight were mainly decided by the juries, and the jury consisted of these following five individuals.

  • Adi Cristescu
  • Mihai Georgescu
  • Crina Mardare
  • Andy Platon
  • Mugurel Vrabete

The juries were set to select 5 of the 11 competing songs that would qualify to the final, while the televote was given the possibility of saving one song that didn’t qualify through the jury vote.

These songs gathered the most points from the jury, and will perform once again in the final. All acts were invited back on stage and even handed an envelope, which all the acts had to open in order to see if they qualified or not.

The five initial qualifiers were;

  • Trooper – “Destin”
  • Teodora Dinu – “Skyscraper”
  • DYA & Lucian Colareza – “Without You(Sin Ti)”
  • Claudiu Mirea – “We Are The Ones”
  • Bella Santiago – “Army of Love”

The remaining six songs that got denied by the jury still had a chance to qualify to the final, from the help of the televote. Since it’s Romania we’re talking about, then yes, they were even sharing the amount of votes each act gathered on screen. (Remember how The Humans won last year at the very end of the one hour long voting… yeah!)

The act placed on top managed to snatch the most votes, and is now also ready for the final, with the rest following after:

  1. Vaida – “Underground” – 1825 votes
  2. The Four – “Song of My Heart” – 661 votes
  3. Steam – “The Way It Goes” – 394 votes
  4. Ommieh & Anakrisez – “Rock This Way” – 262 votes
  5. Nicola – “Weight of The World” – 255 votes
  6. Berniceya – “The Call: Dynasty of Love” – 104 votes

The six highlighted songs will now take part in the final on the 17th of February live from Bucharest.

What do #YOU think about the results and did #YOUR favorite qualify tonight? Share your thoughts with us on our forum HERE or join the discussion below and on social media!

Load More Related Articles
Load More By David Popescu
Load More In 2019

Leave a Reply

Check Also

Serbia: 36 songs to become the “Song For Eurovision ’22”

The silence has been broken, and the Serbian national broadcaster (RTS) has finally decide…