Last Wednesday, Finnish broadcaster YLE announced the 7 hopefuls who are in the running to fly the Finnish flag in Turin. To keep the hype alive among the Eurovision fans, the broadcaster decided to release the songs on a daily base. You can expect a new song from the national final every weekday at midnight. Our first stop: the band Cyan Kicks with their song “Hurricane”

About Cyan Kicks

The rockiest entry in this year’s UMK is Helsinki-based Cyan Kicks, whose members are Susanna AlexandraNiila PerkkiöLeevi Erkkilä and Pietari Reijonen. Cyan Kicks was founded in 2016, and the group has so far released two albums, which has been streamed over 10 million times. The group describes their music as unique modern rock mixed with different styles. Their biggest hit to date is “Invincible.”

”We aren’t afraid to combine different elements to make our own, distinctive sound. One song might be completely electronic, while another will be seriously heavy, but, at the end of the day, it always sounds like Cyan Kicks” says Susanna Alexandra.

Their UMK entry Hurricane is the ideal example of their own style. The verses are electronic, while the chorus and guitar solos form the heavier parts. Elize Ryd, one of the lead vocalists in Danish-Swedish group Amaranthe, collaborated in writing the song. American musician-producer Chris Walla and producer-mixer Zakk Cervini also added their own touches to the song.

Finland is well known for its heavy metal chops and, as recent years have shown, rock music can also succeed in the Eurovision Song Contest. “Rock’s always been around, and it’s always been mainstream music, even if it hasn’t always been the centre of media attention. We want to do our part in really keeping rock in the limelight,” the band says.

In the coming days, Finnish broadcaster YLE will reveal the other songs that are competing in Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu to represent Finland at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2022. You can see the schedule here below:

  • BESS – “Ram pam pam” (Friday 14 January)
  • The Rasmus – “Jezebel” (Monday 17 January)
  • Younghearted – “Sun numero” (Your number) (Tuesday 18 January)
  • Olivera – “Thank God I’m an Atheist” (Wednesday 19 January)
  • Tommi Läntinen – “Elämä kantaa mua” (Life carries me) (Thursday 20 January)
  • Isaac Sene – “Kuuma jäbä” (Hot ice) (Friday 21 January)

BESS with her song “Ram Pam Pam” will be the next release. The premiere of the song will be tomorrow at 23:00 CET on the official YouTube channel of Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu and will be released shortly after it on all streaming services.

What do #YOU think of  “Hurricane ?” Share your thoughts with us on our forum HERE or join the discussion below and on social media!


Load More Related Articles
Load More By Melanie Otto
Load More In 2022

Leave a Reply

Check Also

The Netherlands: Joost Klein released his ESC2024 song “Europapa”

Europe get ready! Dutch representative Joost Klein just released his Eurovision entry R…